Success!

18th October 2014

So, few days later, here I am on my first visit home. The Tuesday outing was more or less successful, thanks to three gin tonics, two mojitos, two beer and endless cigarettes. Turns out my suspicions about the people I went with were outright right (mildly racist, mildly homophobic, and, surprise surprise, more than mildly sexist). But drinks were comparably cheap, the music was bad but not too bad and with a bit of courage it was easy to meet new people.

I have also found out that my internetlessness is caused by an external problem (the student halls are cut off from the main server or something…) and am pretty much settled in. It will take me yet another week until I will be able to start my lectures and seminars, but hey ho. Only slight obstacle is a nation-wide general strike of train drivers that will put a hold to any attempt of me getting back to uni on Sunday. But hey ho, right?

So, back home also means back online. I have however, so far put off taking this blog viral. The writing itself is the easy part. So far, whenever I found the courage to think “Hey, I’ll start a blog”, I only ever got to the part where you set up all the technical stuff. Suddenly you’re faced with so many options and you have to make so many choices. What do I know what the header should look like? I just want to write a bloody blog. And what about this ridiculous “about me” section? What am I supposed to write there? Infinitely annoying, but I will pull myself together and do it. Now. So that you can actually read this stuff. Makes sense.

P.S. I’m doing my best, people. But again: What do I want my blog title to be?

As you might have noticed: here we are! I made it. So proud of myself. Make sure you read the previous posts so that all of this makes sense. Also, a precautionary “Soz” for any spelling or grammar mistakes.

B x

What do you think?

