The Social Anxiety of Freshers Week without Freshers Week

14th October 2014

So, I’ve decided to skip the introductionary blahblah for now to get onto current events. I’ll be going out tonight. Sounds regular, right. Well, it isn’t all that regular. Regular would mean getting ready for a night out with one to eight of my friends, then hitting the town. And by that I mean familiar clubs, familiar bars. And even if we try something new, we’re always with familiar people. People I love, people I trust.

Now, today’s situation is a bit different. I am on my own. My familiar gang is hundreds of miles away in another country, and I have just arrived here, am barely settling in and don’t know anyone. I should also inform you that I don’t like making new friends and meeting new people unless I am already with friends and I’m meeting MORE people. You get my drift? Plus, I haven’t been out in Germany in over a year and even then, it was, guess: with my friends. But no, I’ve been invited to a night out with lots of people that I hardly know (although from what I know they are both mildly racist and mildly homophobic), but I should take this chance, right? I’d regret it if I didn’t. Maybe these people are amazing. At least I’ll be in a group. And I can always leave, right? Oh god, I really shouldn’t be so nervous. It’s just drinks, and then I can see how it goes. Do I want to leave? Then I’ll leave. Do I want to stay? Maybe I’ll stay. And if everything goes super-awkward, I can always escape for a smoke. Fingers crossed that smoking areas are similarly social hubs as in Brighton and hopefully people will dress more appropriately for the weather here. Wish me luck! (haha, jokes.)

What do you think?

