Parrots and Hipsterhood

In my opinion we should not try and describe everything with words. At university especially the scholars tend to ruin great works of literature and pieces of art by interpreting and analyzing them. On the other hand, we normal people often only recognize such great works only if they have been loaded with meaning and cultural significance.

So, yes, today’s shared item is by one of the great artists that we recognize as sch immediately, and no, I probably would not know this painting if it wasn’t as widely known. But it feeling something close to guilt about liking something that many others also like is one of those absurdities of modern day pop culture and although I know that it has affected my behaviour so much that it scares me (the other day I found myself justifying myself for liking a song that they have been playing on the radio frequently for the past year…), I will break with this today just for once and declare what my favourite painting is without having to explain myself or making excuses.

This is it (I love especially the cheeky cigarette): Frida Kahlo’s ‘Yo Y Mis Pericos’

What is your favourite painting or “guilty” pleasure?

B x

2 thoughts on “Parrots and Hipsterhood

What do you think?

