Nuns And Feta Cheese – Some More Reflections

Though I had vowed to publish a post every day during Christmas break, either something I love that you might also love following in the spirit of “sharing” or as one of Gretchen Rubin’s resolutions that I could also adopt on my own terms, I failed to fully deliver on this promise. It was Rubin’s resolutions that I neglected. Nevertheless, I still have some thoughts to share on these, so you’ll have the pleasure now.

Resolution #1: Have An Idol Ms Rubin’s answer to this challenge was an obsession with some French nun who pretended to be happy to make others happy. While I understand the central idea behind this, having the author write an entire chapter about this put me off Saint Therese (I think that was her name…). It did, however, remind me that I have a nun of my own that I admire. The first I heard of her was during an English lesson on Othello where our teacher tried to challenge our assumptions about time and opinions on women’s roles. I won’t disclose too much, but if you want to learn about her click here.  Still, while it is inspiring to read about her, I see now need to idolize or incorporate her into my daily resolutions. Next!

Resolution #2: Handle Money Wisely Most people have a difficult relationship with money. So do I. But the good thing about reading self-help (or pseudo-self-help books like Gretchen Rubin’s) is that you have obvious realizations about yourself and life in general. I realized that while I do like to have a bit of a safety buffer in my bank account, obsessive saving does not make me happy. I like to spend money on things that I use and that I love. So my new goal is not to save up or spend out, but to spend money on worthy things. So I’ll ask is it worth the money? A top that I’ll wear every week is worth  it. So was my massive winter’s coat that keeps me warm and dry every day or the daylight lamp I bought which considerably lifts my mood every time I use it (and I use it a lot). Other things that I’d definitely say are worth it are the real (and more expensive) feta  cheese made of sheep’s milk instead of the cheap discounter “balkan cheese” and the 6€ bus ticket that takes me to see my family.

Have a lovely day y’all!

B x

What do you think?

