Having The Wobbles And Inspiring Blogs (While Feeling Utterly Uninspired)

These days I seem to be having a day that I feel uninspired and tired and mushy (let’s not even get into the state of my hair…) pretty much every day. Can’t do much about it (well, I could: I could put on some music I know will cheer me up, plug in my daylight lamp, eat something, drink something and feel energized and positive in a minute – but I just don’t feel like feeling that way today).

So maybe for now while I sulk in my misery (there’s not actually any misery, I’m just being whimsical), I can still keep one single New Year’s resolution (it’s only day 14, for God’s sake!) and write a blog post.

And what do uninspired people do who are too uninspired to come up with their own topics for blog posts (well, I could of course refer to my long list of ‘things to blog about’, but I just don’t feel…, you get the gist)? They consult The Daily Post and, if they are incidentally also enrolled in their Blogging101 course, they just look at their daily task.

Which I have, if you haven’t quite caught my drift yet. But, I am a cheat (always have been, probably always will be) so I cherry-pick* what I like from it and ignore the rest (thank God I’m not a scientist). And all that jazz about finding new blogs and commenting sounds very much inspired, so not for me (plus, in this mood, I’d probably ruin someone’s day with my point of view, so no comments from me today, it’s for the greater good), but I can manage to list some blog I really like and scribble down something about why I like them (although it is likely to be less enthusiastic than usual, my apologies). Here we go.

Let’s start with one that comes closest to what the original assignment wanted: I literally just found this blog yesterday (or was it the day before?) and it is a true gem. European Travel Adventures is a very hands-on travel blog written by a British student, who caught my eye with travel tips about Budapest, a city I fell in love with last summer. What I like most (bit uninventive, but let’s roll with it) is how her travelling seems to be more like my kind of travelling, meaning not at all like in Eat Pray Love or any of the like: you don’t always look amazing, you don’t necessarily find yourself but you have lots of fun and it’s totally worth it.

Time for the second blog: My favourite mildly (ok, hugely) amusing blog is It’s Dolly Darling. Please, just read for yourself, this lady is hilarious. I loved especially her most recent post with little wisdoms that I guess Gretchen Rubin would call her ‘secrets of adulthood’ (you know when you have read too much of one author in too little time and it makes you nuts? Well, I do), but Dolly just calls ‘Dolly-isms’ (charming, isn’t it!).

Last but truly not least (Blogging101 wanted me to do 4, but 3 is a much more congruent number, plus ‘look at me, I’m a rebel’): My favourite blog about my favourite pastime (apart from eating and sleeping, but I haven’t quite taken to food blogs yet…): A Year Of Reading The World is based on an amazing idea: The blogger read a book from each of the 196 countries that are member states in the UN. Now, she did this a while ago, in 2012, but it is currently relevant in that her own book will be published soon. While I love reading about what she did (she also did ‘A Year of Reading Women‘ the year before),it also leaves me with what I call reader’s guilt: I could be doing a project like that, I should be reading all the books she reads, and more! But gladly, despite my misery and egocentricity, I do have a voice of reason that asks me: If I read everything that she read, would I still have the time to read what I read? No. But, literally, so inspiring. I can’t get enough of reading about all the exotic tales and will definitely need that book on my shelf once it is published (UK release date: February 5th, 2015).

Cheerio and very sorry about the aggressive bracketing,

B x

*this word I picked up from the book I am currently reading, Ben Goldacre’s ‘Bad Science’, which is one of the many many books I have started ages ago but never finished…

5 thoughts on “Having The Wobbles And Inspiring Blogs (While Feeling Utterly Uninspired)

  1. kassandralane says:

    I can completely relate to this feeling of mush-y-ness. Partly because I have been sick and partly because I spend more than forty hours a week at a job that demands most, if not all, of my creativity and inspiration. Attempting to get over this severe cold has made my hair, face, and general state of dress four shades of red and six shades of gray. I am really glad I found your blog while attempting this ‘Be a Good Neighbor’ task and appreciate your ‘I’m sorry but I don’t feel like feeling that way today’ attitude. It is totally normal to understand the need for positivity but be ok with not really wanting to be positive. This is a ‘yay I am not alone’ moment for me so thanks! – K (Lost Girl https://kassandra89lane.wordpress.com/)

    Like

What do you think?

