Around the World Reading Challenge

Yes, another list with books on it, but I promise this one will be short: 6 books.

Inspired to do this by Booking It I chose 6 books from (well, more ‘related to’) 6 continents. Officially the challenge was set for all of 2015, so I could just look at the books I have read this year and tick some continents off the list. However, I chose to take the challenge as an inspiration to make a (very small) reading list.

Still, I will be posting my opinions and impressions about them here, as proof that I did it and of course to share my excitement, disgust and all the other emotions caused by some ink on some paper. Here is my list:

Africa: We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo – I’ve had this one on my ebook reader for a while now and have not yet gotten around to reading it. Now’s the time!

Asia: Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie – Also, I have to admit that I haven’t read a single book by Rushdie (although I have referred to his work extensively in one of my academic works… oops!). If you now rush to say that he lived most of his life outside of Asia, so be it, I’m reading this novel anyway.

Australia: Autumn Laing by Alex Miller – Australian literature is a true weak spot of mine. This too shall pass!

Europe: The Pilgrimage by Paulo Coelho – I know, I know, he’s Brazilian. BUT, the Camino de Santiago is quite clearly in Europe, so I win.

North America: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – Another supersupersuper well-known novel I haven’t read and it will also be the first book I’ll tackle in this challenge.

South America: Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter by Mario Vargas Llosa – I lovelovelove his other novels, so this one is a must.

B x

6 thoughts on “Around the World Reading Challenge

  1. thatssojacob says:

    Yay first comment! I have a similar reading challenge with myself, to read a book and a play from every country. I am a theatre studies major so i read oodles of plays, but mostly review books on my blog. Two recent ones: Mau Mau’s Children by David Sandgren (Kenya) and Performance and Power by Johannes Fabian (Congo-Zaire). Both nonfiction.

    Like

    • ohdearbez says:

      Well, yours is a tad more ambitious 🙂 Good luck with that! I’ll keep my fingers crossed (or, as they say here in Germany, ‘my thumbs pressed’) for your venture!
      B x

      Like

  2. DebraB says:

    Looks like a great list! I also have “We Need New Names” sitting on my book shelf, unread. Maybe that will be my African selection. I, too, have yet to read Salman Rushie. (Shame on me!) I LOVE “Great Gatsby.” Hope you do, too!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

