Broad City Bitch, Broad Broad City Bitch

I love love love Broad city. And somehow, I seem to be anything but alone with this sentiment – everyone loves Broad City. I still have to warm up to the fact that this kind of humour has shuffled into mainstream culture. I mean, I love it, but it does take some getting used to. As a quirky web series it would not have surprised me, but TV?? The times are a changin’! Good for them.

There are so many reasons why I love this show and why I hence love that so many other people love it too. For once, I love that Broad City does not try to generalize. I mean, it shows the lives of two friends in New York, but unlike other series set in NYC, it does not try to ‘depict a generation’. I mean, that is just bullshit. Take Sex In The City, for example: It too displays the lives of friends in the city, but it also tries to make a broader statement about life in the city as a single woman in her thirties, which, for most single women in their thirties, was probably not a very accurate portrayal of their lives.

Even the more recent and heavily praised shows, like Dunham’s Girls, seem to want to make a statement. Surely, they are funded on some actual developments, like the financial dependence of graduates on their parents, but I think sometimes the goal is better reached by not explicitly trying to depict some deeper truths about society.

After all, society is an assembly of microcosms, of people living in their own worlds, of perspectives. And I think if we had more shows like Broad City, shows that depict the characters’ world and perspective without zooming out and trying to establish a bigger picture, we would be tempted to draw that bigger picture ourselves, out of what we have seen, and maybe not only the TV program would be better, but also the world we live in.

B x

One thought on “Broad City Bitch, Broad Broad City Bitch

What do you think?

