Weekly Happiness Update I

Over the last few weeks I have greatly neglected my happiness project, and, surprise surprise, I am considerably miserable. To be fair, I don’t think the neglect is the primary reason for that. I’ve known myself for almost nineteen years now, and I know I’m at my best when I’m sucked up in routine. After the semester is over and the next one isn’t starting until April, I’m pretty much free 24 hours a day. On the other hand, I have driving lessons and physiotherapy during the week and have to stay here for most of the holiday.

So, yeah. Only a week after my last exams I have turned into a bit of a sloth. Of course I had great plans for my newly gained free time, but… You know how it is.

Really it is not much of a secret about how this happiness project works for me, and why reading self-help books really do work: It is not because these include life-changing advice, but because they really just remind us of what we already know. I know that not showering for days and days decreases my happiness considerably and that I feel a lot better when I drink more than two litres a day (tea, that is, not alcohol).

So, anyways, it is time I take up my happiness project again and stop being miserable when it is so easy not to be. I’ll need to update my resolutions to my current situation and then implement these accordingly. I’ll do that right now actually, after I do the dishes (Happiness Secret #482: I’m happier when I’m not surrounded by dirty dishes that stare at me guiltily.).

You’ll hear about those next Sunday!

B x

What do you think?

