Komm wir gehn’, komm wir gehn’…

Dear friends, today is the day. I have to admit, usually I despise music in German. And I have a point: a lot of it is just horrifically horrid. Yet, here we are, and I am sharing with you guys a song that I have grown to love. In German.

At first, I didn’t like it. There are really corny rap sequences that I still don’t appreciate as such, but the song has grown on me with every homemade stereo it blasted from at German festivals, inexplicably linked to the taste of beer and that shabby but gorgeous open air music feeling. For a few summers this has been the song playing on repeat in my head when I stumble-danced back to my tent after a long night of singing and dancing and drinking. That opening still makes me perk up. Dis my jam.

I’m putting your hopes up. It is a shabby song. But so good. Here’s the original and the translation of the chorus:

Do you want to take drugs with me?
It’ll rain red roses then.
That’s how I saw it on TV
Do you want to take drugs with me?

Come, come let’s go.
Come let’s go down the drain together.
Come, cos a wreck is a place
Where a treasure’s hiding.

Also I found this amazing remix by Robin Schulz that doesn’t have all the corny verses, only the first part of the chorus (sadly also not the catchy guitar thingy playing in the background).

B x

One thought on “Komm wir gehn’, komm wir gehn’…

What do you think?

